Learn something new….

Being tasked with learning something new gives you lots of options to choose from. It can be anything, literally anything!! Which also makes it so difficult to choose what 1 thing you should learn.

I decided I wanted to challenge myself and try to learn how to correctly do a back walkover on my own. I taught kindergym gymnastics (ages 3-5) for a year or so and understand how it needs to be excicuted but to actually perform the move is the difficult part. I had trouble achieveing my goal of a complete back walkover, I need to work more on my bridge to get it looking like this. (see picture below)

great bridge 

Instead of like this. (see below)

deece bridge

I was not able to bend into a bridge from standing and kick over to come to a standing position to finish. I need to work on my shoulder flexability more and hopefully will be able to do one before I return in September.

It didn’t help that I procastinated asking friends to spot me in my attempts to fall back into bridge and then kick over, and when I asked friends I needed to follow through with my requests. I never did get a chance to try the full assisted move but I will work on the fine tuning things in hopes of  successfully completing one in September.

I could start from ground and go into a bridge, then walk up a wall and kick into a standing position – but to do it all together (go from stand and fall back into a bridge) at this point is too much. I never “focused” on stretching my back and shoulders on a consistant basis to improve my over all flexability but worked on strengthening them through excersices at the gym on occasion.

To complete this goal I needed to be more determinded and should have worked harder to achieve the results I wanted. I kept putting it off and procrastinating practicing it and that came around to bite me in the end here. Had I gotten a friend to assist/spot my attempt it would have looked something similar to this. (see below)

assisted walkover

I thought about using a yoga ball as a brace to support my back in my early attempts, but having lots of snow outside my yard wasn’t avalible and my living room is not sufficent enough to perform this move in. At our schools fitness centre we have yoga balls – but only those in personal training programs are allowed access to the room where they are kept so that wasn’t an option either.

Having taught gymnastics I met quite a few gymnists and catching up with one of the girls who’d gone to national competitions, Sammy Jo Johnson and asked her about executing a walkover. She told me that to perform a back walkover easily you need lots of shoulder and back flexability and it helps to watch your hands as you bend backwards so that you know where the floor is and how soon its coming. Also when you start doing your walkover you need to have the guts to keep going, the moment before you touch the ground with your hands and kick your leg over you need to push yourself and just kick and push with your legs to loop over and land nicely.

I hope that practice over the summer and stretching out my limbs will allow me to be more successful and succeed with this goal I set out to do. That’s what I’ve learned about preparing and excecuting a back walkover this semester. Its been a blast!

Kaleigh Abraham

NAIT Radio, 2nd Semester

About nr92openmic

NR92.com, NAIT campus radio! Playing anything and everything.

Leave a Reply

